If Christ is Not Risen 2

images6The apostle Paul outlined 6 consequences if Christ is not risen from the dead.

1st, the preaching is pointless. “And if Christ is not risen, then our preaching is empty” (1 Cor. 15:14, NKJV). “Preaching” is from the Greek noun, kerugma, which means, “what is preached, message, proclamation”
(Concise Greek-English, s. v. κηρυγμα). This means that the Gospel itself is vain or empty, if there is no resurrection of Christ. Apostolic doctrine becomes pointless.

The word, “empty” (NKJV) or “vain” (ESV), is from the Greek adjective, kenos, “without purpose – ‘in vain, for no purpose’”
(Greek-English Lexicon, s. v. κενος). If Jesus is not risen, then the Gospel is empty, without purpose, pointless, and senseless.

What’s Good News about the Gospel when the Savior who died on the cross is now still dead? What’s the point of salvation from sin, when the Savior is dead?

If Jesus is not risen, then my ministry here is pointless. My years of studying for my Bachelor of Theology are senseless. I wasted my 3 years studying for my Master of Divinity, if Christ is not risen from the dead.

If Christ is not risen, then going to church is senseless. For you are merely worshiping a dead Savior. You will just be wasting your time listening to me. And I will just be wasting my time preaching to you about a dead man.

Permissions: You may copy/paste or distribute this post in part or in whole, provided that you acknowledge the name of the author and do not change the words or word order or charge a fee beyond the cost of copying or distributing.

Disclaimer:  I’ve tried to give credit to whom credit is due.  If there is any original thought or reference which I failed to footnote, please call my attention.  Once validated, it will be corrected immediately.

Leave a Reply

