Why Do Bad Things Happen to Good People – 5

With Mylene still in the hospital, I came out of the hospital one morning index 3only to find my car missing. It was towed away the night before. I parked in the parking zone. But I didn’t know that it was a no overnight parking area. There was no signboard anywhere. I planned to enroll my daughter. But before that, I had to get my car. So I went to the impound area and got my CR/OR. Then I had to go downtown to the CITOM office to pay the fine. I had to pay P2,400 to the city, including towing fees and taxi. I paid it all, while my wife was in the hospital and while my 8-year old daughter was waiting for me at home, wondering where I was.

God never promises you a problem-free life. But when God gives you problems, He gives you problems equal to your strength, and strength equal to your problems. 1 Cor. 10:13 says, God “will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it” (NKJV). How then should we pray about problems? Phillips Brooks wrote, “Do not pray for easy lives. Pray to be stronger men! Do no pray for tasks equal to your powers. Pray for power equal to your tasks.”

Expect the best from God, but prepare for the worst from Satan also. A life of obeying God is no guarantee of a life of escaping trials. No less than God called Job, “a blameless and an upright man, one who fears God, and turns away from evil” (Job 1:8, WEB). But the next day, Job lost all his precious sons and daughters and all his possessions. Daniel prayed 3 times a day to God. But a life of prayer did not spare him from facing the lions.[1] Clearly, God favored both Job and Daniel; but He allowed Job to lose all his children and assets, and Daniel to face the lions. The favor of God may include the trials of God. God’s favor does not translate into a trouble-free life. But the favor of God still operates despite the trials of God.

Maybe you cannot understand why you’re experiencing more problems now that you are a believer. Don’t be surprised, but rejoice in it. “Beloved, do not think it strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened to you; but rejoice to the extent that you partake of Christ’s sufferings, that when His glory is revealed, you may also be glad with exceeding joy” (1 Pet. 4:12-13, NKJV). Sooner or later, every true believer will experience trials. This does not mean that God’s favor is no longer upon you. To the contrary, God’s favor covers you in times of trials. His strength is made perfect in weakness. It is when you are weak that you can experience the strength of God (2 Cor. 12:10). Realize this: every trial is an opportunity to experience divine strength and divine wisdom for that trial!


[1] James Merritt, “When Your Faith Goes on Trial,” http://www.sermonsearch.com. Accessed July, 2009.

 

Leave a Reply

