God’s Gift of Christmas – 7

Fourth, He is called, Prince of Peace. Since my father left us when I was only 11 years old, my life was lacking peace. My soul was at war with myself.  I was struggling with sin in my heart.  My brother and I always fought with each other. Our dad and mom were not in good terms.  There was no peace in the home.  Most of all, there was no peace in my soul–until the day I heard about the Prince of Peace.  I called on Him and He came into my heart one special day.  Since then, He has brought peace to my life and family.

This title is also one phrase in the Hebrew—sar-shalom. “Peace” is from the noun, shalom, “Peace, quiet, tranquillity, contentment; Peace (from war)” (BDB)

Right now, there is war between warring clans in Maguindanao. There is always war in Mindanao with Muslim rebels. I grew up hearing about the MNLF (Moro National Liberation Front). Now that I’m grown up, there is the MILF (Moro Islamic Liberation Front).

Even here in Cebu, there is war. You say, “Pastor, I didn’t know there is war in Cebu City.” Yes, there is. When was the last time you fought your husband or wife? That was the last time there was war in the home. I hope that was the last and final war. There is war between husband and wife, war between father and son, mother and daughter; and war between brother and sister. Sometimes, there is no peace in the home. Have you forgiven somebody who wronged you last time? If not yet, there is still war in your soul.

Jesus is the Prince of Peace. He is the Leader of peace. He is the Lord of Peace. The Lord of Tranquility. He is the Captain of Contentment. His millennial rule will be marked by national and international peace—peace for a thousand years!

How does Jesus bring about this peace? Through war! The context of Isaiah chapter 9 talks about war (Isa. 9:3-5). The Title of Jesus as El Gibbor—Mighty God, is a title of war. Therefore, He will achieve PEACE THROUGH WAR.

Let me ask you, “Do you experience the peace of the Prince of Peace in your heart today?” Jesus already declared war when He came into this world and introduced the kingdom of God, pushing back the darkness of the god of this world. When He sacrificed His life on the cross, He defeated Satan. When He rose from the dead, He defeated death. He paid the penalty of your sin on the cross, so that you who are at war with God and estranged from God can be reconciled to God and have peace with God and the peace of God.

If you have Jesus in your heart today, you have peace with God and the peace of God. Because Jesus’ peace guards your heart, there can be peace between a warring husband and wife. Because Jesus won the war against sin, there can be peace in the home and between friends and families. Jesus is the Prince of Peace.

For unto us a Child is born, Unto us a Son is given; And the government will be upon His shoulder. And His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace” (Isa. 9:6, NKJV).

The only way to receive the peace of God is to receive the gift of the Prince of peace. Have you received God’s gift for you this Christmas? Would you turn from your sin and allow the Prince of Peace to rule your heart today? Would you like to receive Christ today to come into your life?

Leave a Reply

