The Measure of His Name

 Then Moses said to God, “If I come to the people of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ what shall I say to them?” 

God said to Moses, “I am who I am.” And he said, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘I am has sent me to you.’” 

God also said to Moses, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘The Lord, the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me to you.’ This is my name forever, and thus I am to be remembered throughout all generations” (Ex. 3:13-15, ESV).

One day, my daughter asked me, “Daddy, what is the name of God?” Moses asked God the same question in the burning bush incident. When God named Himself before Moses, Moses learned to worship God that day.

God commanded Moses to go to Egypt and get His people out of the hands of the Egyptians. But Moses said, “When I go to the children of Israel, and tell them that the God of their fathers has sent me to you, and when they ask, ‘What is His Name?,’ what shall I tell them?”

It has been many, many years since the day that they worshipped the God of their forefathers. They have been so long without any Word from God. They have forgotten the promises of God to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. They have been in bondage in Egypt for so long. They have been brainwashed in the religious superstitions of Egypt. Their minds have been turned from the true God to the many gods of the unbelievers around them. Moses himself lacked conviction and knowledge of the only true God of Israel, so he begins to ask God, “What is His Name?”

It might be that you are reading this article but you are living far away from the living God.  You now find yourself asking, “What is the meaning of the Name of God to me?”

The Bible says that all those who know the Name of God put their trust in Him (Ps. 9:10). Do you trust God today?  If so, then you must know the Name of God. If you are not trusting God, it is probably because you do not know the Name of God. And so you are asking the same question today, “What is His Name?”

God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.” In the first person, Yahweh or Yehowah, literally means “I AM WHO I AM.”  The English, “I Am” is translated from the Hebrew first person, singular, qal imperfect form of the verb, hayah, “to exist, to be.” (TWOT/OTWS) Now the qal imperfect form  signifies repeated action. It can therefore be translated, “I Am Continually Who I Am Continually,” or “I Am Who Is,” or “I Am Who Exists.” The Name, Yahweh, thus means, “I am the Self-Existent One, the Eternal One, One who Exists By Myself and for Myself Continually.” 

Look at God’s answer in 3:15. “The LORD God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.” God wants the children of Israel to recall the God of their forefathers. To the question, “What is your Name?”, God answers, “I am the same God of your forefathers, before you were born.  I am the same God today.  I am the same God throughout the ages!” (MacArthur)

He is the same God long before the world began. He will be the same God long after the world will end. He was Self-Existing in Eternity Past. He is Self-Existing Now. He will continue to Self-Exist in Eternity Future.

He is the I Was. He is the I Am. He is the I Will Be.

Leave a Reply

