God Creates History

In the second year of the reign of Nebuchadnezzar, Nebuchadnezzar had dreams; his spirit was troubled, and his sleep left him” (Daniel 2:1 ESV).

As a background, the Babylonians at this time were the most powerful people in the world. They had supplanted the Assyrian Empire and decisively defeated once-powerful Egypt. They had taken captive Israel and Judah. Nebuchadnezzar, the King of Babylon, was the most powerful King of the world.

But there was a more powerful King, the God of heaven. This God of heaven creates history. One day, God gave Nebuchadnezzar a dream that greatly “troubled” him (2:1). The Hebrew word for “troubled” is pa`am, is from a root word which means, “to tap, i.e. beat regularly” (Strong) His dream beat him regularly, disturbing him greatly. God disturbed him with a deeply disturbing dream.

Have you ever dreamed a very disturbing dream? When I was in grade school, I had a terrible dream. I dreamed that a giant cockroach was running after me. I would wake up crying all night. My mother would slap my face so I’d stop crying. She would bring me to the kitchen; and give me water to drink. The giant cockroach in my dream really scared me.

Nebuchadnezzar’s dream was so disturbing that he couldn’t sleep. Listen! The trouble of our times is according to the plan of God. The things that disturb you deeply today are the things that God has purposed.

Our God is a God who creates history.

Leave a Reply

