The Hypocritical Way to Pray – 1

Jesus said,  “And when you pray, you must not be like the hypocrites. For they love to stand and pray in the synagogues and at the street corners, that they may be seen by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward” (Matt. 6:5).

Who is a hypocrite in Matthew? “‘This people honors me with their lips, but their heart is far from me’” (Matt. 15:8). A hypocrite is someone who worships God with his lips, but his heart is not devoted to God.

I hope I am not a hypocrite here today. God sees my heart. God knows if I worship Him only with my lips, but my heart does not bow down to God, or my heart is not in love with God, or my heart is not devoted to God.

Maybe you need to ask God to search your heart today. “Lord, make me to worship You not just with my lips, but with my heart and my life.”

Leave a Reply

