I Will Fulfill My Vows to the LORD

How many of you here are married? Do you remember your wedding vows?  It’s okay. I also don’t remember my wedding vows.

Traditional Wedding Vow:
I, (name), take you (name), to be my (wife/husband), to have and to hold from this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish; from this day forward until death do us part.

The important thing is not that you remember your wedding vows, but that you live your wedding vows.

In Ps. 116:14, the psalmist says, “I will pay my vows to the LORD in the presence of all his people.” He was in the grip of death. He cried out to the Lord. The Lord heard him and saved him from death.

In grateful response, he asked himself what he should render to the Lord for all his benefits? He answered, “I will lift up the cup of salvation.” “I will call on the name of the Lord.”

Now he says, “I will fulfill my vows to the Lord.” Perhaps he remembered when he made a promise to God. But he did not keep it. Now, he will make it a point to fulfill his vows to the Lord.

He will not do it in secret. He will fulfill his vows to the LORD before His people. Why—Because the acts of God are for all to see and for all to hear for the glory of God.

Leave a comment