Jesus is Called Faithful and True

John continued, “Then I saw heaven opened, and behold, a white horse! The one sitting on it is called Faithful and Trued True” (Rev. 19:11). The name Faithful and True is found in 3 Maccabees 2:11. 3 Maccabees 2:11 speaks of the faithfulness of God by answering the prayer of Israel to judge her persecutors. (Beale)

It is the same theme in Rev. 19:11. John writes of Jesus as the one who delivers judgment to the nations. Thus, the name portrays Jesus as the faithful and true judge of nations.

Yet Jesus the Faithful and True begins his judgment in the local church. Revelation 3:14-19 reads,

14 “And to the angel of the church in Laodicea write: ‘The words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of God’s creation.

15 “ ‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! 16 So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. 17 For you say, I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing, not realizing that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked. 18 I counsel you to buy from me gold refined by fire, so that you may be rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself and the shame of your nakedness may not be seen, and salve to anoint your eyes, so that you may see. 19 Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent.

Some believers commit the sin of immorality. I heard of a grand daughter of an active church elder. She got pregnant with her boyfriend. Yet she does not want to get married. Worse, they are doing a “live-in” arrangement. They do not fear God in their sin.

Jesus’ judgment begins in our church. If we do not repent, Jesus will judge us. Jesus who is called Faithful and True shall judge every church someday.

Elsewhere John wrote, “And he who was seated on the throne said, ‘Behold, I am making all things new.’ Also he said, ‘Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true’” (Rev. 21:5). The context of this verse is the coming new heaven and new earth. Jesus is called Faithful and True not merely because he is trustworthy. Jesus is Faithful and True because he will fulfill all the prophecies of the new heaven and new earth and the new Jerusalem. (Beale)

3 thoughts on “Jesus is Called Faithful and True

  1. Pingback: Why Should We Sing Heartily? - Resonant 7

    • Dear Mike,
      Sorry, I don’t hold the rights to that image. I believe you can use it freely since there is no copyright notice to it.

Leave a comment