God Lavished His Grace Upon Us in Christ

Paul wrote, “In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace” (Eph. 1:7). The word “riches” indicates “boundless abundance.” (BAGD) Paul is saying that we have the redemption and forgiveness according to the over-abundance of God’s grace in Christ.

I’d like us to note six things in these three verses. First, we see the measure of God’s grace. We cannot begin to measure the riches of God’s grace. Yet Paul says that the riches of God’s grace are found only in Christ. We can thus appreciate the riches of God’s grace in Christ. God’s grace is so rich that it cost Him more than the cost of creating the universe. That cost is the sacrifice of His Son. It is a costly grace, not cheap grace.

Redemption, then, is gracious because it is costly. Forgiveness is gracious because it is costly. It cost God His Son. Therefore, the riches of His grace are manifested in the cost of sending His only begotten Son to save us from our sins.

When Jomart, John Mark, and Kiki were little boys, I wanted to give me some money on Christmas week. I also wanted to teach them the value of saving money. One day in November, I offered to give them Php 30.00 each. If they will save the Php 30.00 until the next week, I will double the money. I promised to double their savings weekly until Christmas.

The next week, each of them eagerly lined up before me and showed me their savings. Jomart showed me his Php 30.00 and I gave him another Php 30.00. John Mark and Kiki showed me their Php 30.00 and I gave each of them Php 30.00. The next week, they showed me their Php 60.00 so I doubled it to Php 120.00 each. I kept on doing that until Christmas time. By the time of Christmas, I gave away so much money it hurt. I was relieved that finally, it was Christmas time—the deadline of giving away my money.

That is the lavishness of the grace of God. Paul says in v. 8 that God “lavished” His grace upon us (v. 8). God did not reserve His grace; He gives it generously. When did God do that? The aorist tense of “lavished” signifies a one-time action in summary fashion. When God chose us, He lavished His grace upon us. When God predestined us, He lavished His grace upon us. When God adopted us, He lavished His grace upon us. When God redeemed us, He lavished His grace upon us.

Leave a comment